Are you ready to Race ? 2019 – Albins ARB Goondiwindi 400.

2019 ARB - Rd2 Australian Off Road Racing Championship/2019 Mickey Thompson Tires AORRA Queensland Off Road Racing Championship – Rd 5.


                                        Jason Morgan competing last year.

Competitors and spectators alike are excited to go racing again when battle resumes this weekend in the inland Queensland town of Goondiwindi when the ARB Albins Goondiwindi 400 gets underway. The track is situated just East of the rural town and if you have never seen an Off road race then this is the one that you should come out and have a look at.

                                               Raemus Rover no 189.

                             Jason Richards – It’s 5 Oclock Somewhere.

                                         2018 dusty conditions at the Gundy 400.

The race this weekend will be fought on two fronts, Rd2 -2019 ARB Australian Off Road Racing Championship with Talbot Cox and Craig King hoping to extend their lead in the championship with a trouble free weekend in the unlimited Class. Last year’s winner Danny brown will not be competing and therefore cannot defend his title from 2018.

                             ARB – Championship Leader Talbot Cox/Craig King.

ARB – Championship Leader Talbot Cox.

In the 2109 Mickey Thompson Tires AORRA Queensland Off Road Racing Championship – Rd 5, David Loughnan holds a slight lead over Michael Schneider and Andrew Murphy. The top three separated by only 9 points.

Scrutineering will be this afternoon at the Goondiwindi Showgrounds where spectators can get up close and personal with drivers and machines.

Friday Scrutineering 2018 at the showgrounds.

Friday Scrutineering 2018 at the showgrounds.

On Saturday over 90 competitors will try and set a fast time in the prologue, then the top 10 will shoot it out for Pole position in the Gundy 400. This will be followed by 1 lap of the 80km track to close out Saturday’s action.
Competitors return on Sunday to do it all again with another 2 laps in the morning with a pit break at lunchtime, then 2 twice more around in the afternoon of the unforgiving 80km’s of Melon holes to decide the winners for 2019.

                             Last year’s winner Danny Brown not defending his title.

Words and Pictures

Terry Hill